The Sustainability Awards 2021

Presented by
In partnership with

The Awards

We are excited to hold the inaugural Sustainability awards in partnership with Surge. The awards highlight the importance of sustainability across spaces and product design with an intention to encourage the entire buying process to be a socially responsible one.


Sustainability Awards are independently judged by a panel of diverse individuals who are responsible for decision making and advocates in the industry. The Awards adopt some of the principles from LEED of USGBC and recognize sustainable certifications relevant to this process. The judging criteria is weighted between design and its green credentials, which can be backed by 3rd party certifications.

Product Category Winners

The region’s first Sustainability Awards were announced this year in collaboration with Surge’s at the Design, Dine, Make a Difference 2021 Gala. We could not have been more proud of our entrants and our winners.

Winner for the Most Sustainable Flooring!

Brand: Amorim Wise
Product Name: Cork Pure

Presented by: Gavin Dawbney, Senior Manager, Havelock One

Winner for the Most Sustainable Architectural & Space Dividers!

Brand: Framery
Product Name: Framery One

Presented by: Laila Al-Yousuf, Design Director, SAY Studio

Winner for the Most Sustainable Furniture!

Brand: Humanscale
Product Name: Liberty Ocean

Presented by: Kristina Zanic, Founder of Kristina Zanic Consultants

Winner for the Most Sustainable Lighting!

Brand: Fagerhult
Product Name: 
Multilume Re:think

Presented by: Mariam Kamel, Operations Manager and Head of D&B from Al Tayer Stocks

Winner for the Most Sustainable Sanitaryware!

Brand: Kohler
Product Name: 
Avoir Comfort Height

Presented by: Carla Conte, Founder & Creative Director, Brand Creative

Winner for the Most Sustainable Surfaces, Materials & Finishes!

Brand: Baswa
Product Name: 
Baswa Natural

Presented by: Minisha Fernandes, General Manager, Seekers


Winner for the Most Sustainable Project!

Arcadia High School
Designer: Godwin Austen Johnson (GAJ)
Contractor: Al Shirawi Contracting Company for project
Presented by: Richard Stratton, Managing Director, Cundall

Jury panel

All communication regarding the Awards should only be carried out with Love That Design. For any questions please contact us on [email protected]

Kristina Zanic

Kristina Zanic

Founder of Kristina Zanic Consultants

Amber Peters

Amber Peters

Associate at Roar

Ben Backhouse

Ben Backhouse

Director of Interior Design at Pace

Diane Thorsen

Diane Thorsen

Design Director at Gensler

Keenan Grote

Keenan Grote

Chief Operating Officer at PMKConsult

Paul Shahriari

Paul Shahriari

Founder & Chief Innovation Officer at ecomedes


Submissions open

1 September

Submissions close

31 October

Finalists announcement

1 December

Awards night

8 December